Theft Crime Attorney in Colorado Springs
Penalties for Theft
The penalty you would face if convicted of theft depends on the value of stolen goods. According to Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-401 (2012) "Theft," there are four degrees of theft:
- If the value of stolen goods is less than $500, it is a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by between three and twelve months in jail.
- If the value of stolen goods is more than $500 but less than $1,000, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by between six and eighteen months in jail.
- If the value of stolen goods is $1,000 or more but less than $20,000, it is a Class 4 felony, punishable by between two and six years in prison.
- If the value of stolen goods is $20,000 or more, it is a Class 3 felony, punishable by between four and twelve years in prison.
Other factors may influence the charges you face. For example, if you are accused of breaking into an occupied structure, you can be charged with burglary, or you can be charged with robbery if you are accused of using force, threats or intimidation to commit the theft.
Defending You Against Theft Charges
Whether you have been charged with shoplifting or armed robbery, we encourage you to contact us at Clawson & Clawson, LLP for help in defending your rights and your future. We have more than 90 years of combined experience, and we know the most effective strategies for helping our clients find their way out of the criminal justice system. Don't think that you can resolve the situation by speaking with the investigators and telling your side of the story. The police already believe that you committed the crime, and will only use what you say as evidence against you. You shouldn't take any chances by attempting to handle the case on your own. Let us put our skill and dedication to results to work for you!